Start your major before you transfer?

Start Your Major Before you Transfer Magazine Layout

Yes, you can!

For many students interested in transferring, figuring out what they want to major in often takes a little exploration and time.

And that’s okay!

However, sometimes you just know where your passions lie and what you want to study. No matter which type of person you are, you can rest assured Eastern Iowa Community Colleges (EICC) makes the transfer process easy and seamless! But if you are the latter, we have an exciting new program designed just for you: Statewide Transfer Majors.

Established last year between the state’s community colleges, Iowa, Iowa State, UNI and several private colleges, the program creates specified Transfer Major Associate’s Degrees. These degrees lay out the precise course path you complete here at Eastern Iowa Community Colleges, allowing you to take general education classes as well as classes required for you major!

The partner colleges and universities have all agreed on these classes, giving the courses their academic seal of approval. This is great news because you’ll take some of the same classes you would at the four-year college, but you’re able to save money and start your major closer to home. You can also get started knowing you’ll be ready to transfer seamlessly into your major once you’ve completed your Transfer Major Associate’s Degree with EICC.

What’s even better is we just added six new options to our already long list of majors. These are the EICC majors currently included in the program:

  • Ag Business
  • Ag Education
  • Agronomy
  • Animal Science
  • Biology
  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Criminal Justice
  • Early Childhood Teaching
  • Elementary Education
  • English–new
  • Exercise Science and Kinesiology–new
  • History–new
  • Human and Family Services–new
  • Mathematics
  • Physics Political Science–new
  • Psychology
  • Secondary Education
  • Social Work–new
  • Sociology

There are some differences in which colleges are included with which major areas. The list of area colleges who have signed on to the program continues to grow. Currently it includes:

  • University of Iowa
  • Iowa State University
  • University of Northern Iowa
  • Clarke University
  • Iowa Wesleyan University
  • Mount Mercy University
  • St. Ambrose University
  • University of Dubuque
  • Upper Iowa University
  • Western Illinois University

Learn more about the Transfer Major Associate’s Degrees, including partner colleges, at

Author: alaneastern

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.